Archive for October 2, 2013

Today is yoga day and I was hanging out with my buddy Rodney Yee on a cliff top in Hawaii where we went through a challenging sequence that creates detoxifying heat in your body and helps you build inner and outer strength.  But alas, I was unable to fly out to Hawaii today, so threw in his DVD and brought Hawaii to me! 🙂

This workout is not for the faint hearted as it is pretty intense with 30 downward dogs and a whole bunch of chaturanga push ups.

Although I have been practicing vinyasa flow on and off for the last few years, I still get ‘floored’ by some of these poses, specifically upward bow, (I got my head off the floor for the 1st time today, with the help of a balance ball beneath me, but my arms are just not strong enough to hold my full weight); the plow, how do you get your feet to touch the floor behind your head?  Any suggestions welcome); and the full lotus!  Seriously, is it anatomically impossible for everyone to do this?  My legs are short and chunky, and in order for me to get each foot on the opposite thigh at the same time would require me to dislocate/break a knee or two!) Again, suggestions welcome.

And I was dragging more so today due in part to it being day three of “the curse”! I was so bummed and disheartened when jumping on my bathroom scales today to discover that I had gained 4 lbs!  FOUR!!! And I have been exercising like a maniac every day.  Damned fluid retention, GRRRRRR. So, I am about to make another batch of spa water: cucumbers, fresh ginger, fresh mint, fresh lemons, and drink it while imagining I am on a sun-kissed beach having coconut oil massaged gently through my scalp, neck and shoulders………….. 🙂

try this DVD if you don’t already have it.  I love it

http://www.amazon.com/Power-Yoga-Total-Body-Workout/dp/B0000A2ZQE

and check out my boy, Rodders.

http://www.yeeyoga.com/

Upward-Bow-PoseWoman lying on a mat doing yogaLotus pose
Rodney Yee's power yoga